• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Topic: Total beginner string composition questions

Total beginner string composition questions

I\'ve just started playing around with GPO and Sonar. Using a sequencer allows you to do so many crazy things, and it\'s such a different way of creating music that before I make some string parts that sound too unrealistic, I thought I would try and get some basic info from the people who know something about writing for strings.

Do cellos/violins/violas play octaves and chords, like a guitar? Or do they just play single notes?

What is meant by divisi? If you have 3 violins and one plays E, one plays G#, and one plays B to produce an E major chord, is that considered divisi? Or is it more like: one violin plays melody \"A\" while the other plays melody \"B\"?

When a section plays a part in unison, are they usually playing at the same pitch as well?

Thank you for the help

Re: Total beginner string composition questions

as a violinist i think i can answer at your questions.
    first of all, a violinist can play 2 or three strings exactly at the same time or as a guitar, playing at first the first string (generally the lower one) and then the others. It\'s quite common to play two strings together while it\'s possible to play three strings but just for a short time and generally with a \"strong\" attacco becuase it\'s necessary a certain preassure on the bow to make it touching all the three strings.
    Generally a \"divisi\" is when some players, like the 2nd violists, who generally play the same notes, at a certain point play different notes. It can be that are divisi in 2 subsection or more, it depends. This can be done to do a chord, as you said, or in \"contrappunto\" when they start playing different melodies.
    In unison all play at the same pitch.
    i hope my answers can help you.
    good luck for your music