• Register
  • Help

Topic: sonar3

Share/Bookmark

sonar3

Hi i am new to gpo. My question is can i use gpo studio and overture within sonar, if not how does one use gpo studio and overture with gpo?

jim

Re: sonar3

Hi Jim

If you are trying to use GPO with Sonar, check out this tutorial:

http://www.fallofautumn.com/GPO-Sonar-Tutorial.htm

I wrote it for GPO / Sonar beginners, to get them acquainted with the basics of using the two products together. I use them extensively in my work, and am trying to encourage others to do so as well.

The tutorial is intended for users who have already purchased GPO and Sonar, but if you have not, you can skim it anyways and get a feel for the workflow.

I\'m not sure how to use GPO with Overture, since I don\'t use them together, but Overture \"with\" Sonar? In that you can notate midi data with Overture, export the midi and import it into Sonar for further editing, yes, they can be used \'together.\' But they are two separate programs. They do not work with eachother like GPO works with Sonar (or overture). You basically choose one or the other - notater or sequencer. It is generally understood that sequencers are far superior to notaters. The drawback to the sequencer is that you have to use either the piano roll view for sequencing your midi data, or a built-in notater (that comes with Sonar, Cubase, Logic, etc.) that is really primitive in functionality.

Hope that helps. [img]/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/smile.gif[/img]

- Junk

Nice tutorial! I am going to have to remember this when I finally get Sonar 3 producer. [img]/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/wink.gif[/img]
    Thanks for posting!

Hi Junk,

I just had a quick look at your tutorial out of interest although I have Cubase. I notice that you have no acknowledgement there unless your name is hidden somewhere.

It\'s a lot of work to put something like that together so I think your name should be there unless you requested that it shouldn\'t.