• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Topic: Sharing Secrets

Sharing Secrets

Considering all the different libaries out there and chosing the most realistic one, there is also the technique of sequencing. I was wondering if people on this forum are interested in sharing their secrets or techniques in sequecing their music to gain the most realism. The more people share, the more we can all learn. I am a rookie in midi sequencing but not as a traditional composer (pen to paper). I would love to learn as much as possible.

Re: Sharing Secrets

Fala mano?!?!

If it´s orchestral , never write with the mouse neither use quantize...Play it , than make your corrections using the zoom and mouse but don´t try to make your sequence perfect!!!
    Blanding some miliseconds the release of the last note with the attack of the next one works great for legatos on libraries that don´t have legato tools!!!

In no order:

1. I use the \'random\' function in Logic on every instrument/line. There\'s probably a similar one in every sequencer. Basically it randomizes the note position and velocity by a chosen range. In a \'real\' instrument recording context, the musicians\' notes are never exactly at the same place in time, and they never play at exactly the same dynamic.

2. I\'m learning to use less and less compression on the final mix. I still like to use some on the individual tracks, but I find that I can have more \'punch\' in my mixes by having a wider dynamic range.

3. I\'m starting to incorporate the GPO modwheel->volume idea to my EXS patches. I find that it forces me to play with more expression.

4. I like doubling cello and bass pizz lines with soft piano (Malmsjo).

5. It\'s a good idea to think that a wind player needs to breathe when you\'re trying to write a realistic sounding woodwind or brass line, so leave time for them to breathe.

I\'ll second all of the above suggestions, especially in regards to phrasing.