• Register
  • Help

Topic: Glissando composition question...

Glissando composition question...

Greetings fellow GPO users!

I have a sort of novice composition question to ask of you fine talented composers! [img]/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/wink.gif[/img] I know this may be a little off-topic in the GPO forum, please forgive me if I\'m posting in the wrong place. Now, I have been using GPO for about 6 months now and I love it. Just recently I\'ve been getting many opportunities to do student film scores and I use GPO extensively. I\'ve been in school for one semester for composition/ theory and I\'m on my summer break... so I have nobody to ask this question to.

My question is about getting a rapid glissando effect in GPO. What I mean is a rapid glissando up or down usually used in a transitional type effect in the orchestra to bring in the next period, phrase, motif, or note, etc. I use LOGIC PRO and I know my way around it pretty good.

I\'m well aware that all theory rules can be broken and nothing is really set in stone, *BUT* I\'m asking about the basic most commonly used compositional method at this time- then I can take it from there. I know a glissando can be 16ths or 32nd notes, triplets, barrowed time, etc. Do you go up/down the glissando with the diatonic scale, chromatic, certian intervals (2nds, 3rds, perfects, ect.), passing tones, arpeggios, or what? Any info or tips are appreciated.

Re: Glissando composition question...