• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Topic: new kontakt player: is it the ram still necessary?

Share/Bookmark

new kontakt player: is it the ram still necessary?

hi
    I\'ll buy my new powerbook this week and it will come with 256MB of RAM.
    I\'m wondering if it\'s better to go and add 256MB or 512MB.
    I know that the second option it\'s better but it cost more and i would like to know if it worth it.
    I know that the new kontakt player is under test now and you can\'t tell me anything but if you can just give me an idea it should be great.
    thanks a lot
    Michael

Re: new kontakt player: is it the ram still necessary?

I am not a computer expert at all, but I think everyone will agree that any computer that you buy should have the most amount of RAM that you can afford.

crr,

Even **if** the new player will include DFD, you still need to pre-load a small part of that file to RAM before it will stream the rest from disk, so the upgrade, even if only another 256, would be well worth it there...

Also, I don\'t know which sequencer you\'re using, but think of that and XP (128MB of RAM just to load) and you\'re running out of room FAST!

Again, I\'m not saying the new player will, I\'m not saying the new player won\'t - I\'m saying, more RAM is always a good idea...

hi
    thanks for your replies.
    I was wondering if it\'s sufficient to upgrade to 512MB or if i can have \"far away\" better performances with 650.
    thanks
    Michael

The more the better!

The difference between 512 and 650 is a lot of instruments. It will save you lots of time - not having to bouce so many tracks.

Also, a single stick of 512mb of ram is only like 95 bucks. That\'s not too bad. Save up and get it, the more the better!!!

- Junk