• Register
  • Help

Topic: help

Share/Bookmark

help

I have been pulling my hair out trying to get an even balance with this for days now. Im a midi newbie and its driving me crazy. How do people rapidly change modulation wheel volumes from one note to the next without an obvious audible change if the notes are right next to each other without a break? Its possible to change one notes volume to the next with real instruments pretty smoothly, but I have trouble with this and modulation. I looked in the piano role thing and tried correcting that way but its starting to look like my year old kid\'s coloring. Secondly, I do not want to achieve the smooth studioish \"multimedia\" sound at all but rather a live feel. I only have the reverb that comes with it and the reverbs in Sonar. Which is better to use? Thirdly how is the balance best maintained? For instance I will record with headphones and think everything sounds fine, then I listen thru speakers and what sounded fine thru headphones sounds yucky out of the speakers where some instruments stuck out were blurred out with the change. Unfortunately the times I get to play around with this are usually late evening so I do not have many choices but headphones.

Anyway I chose this piece to test the \"singing\" quality of solo instruments. I know I have a way to go to get a good sound and I really didnt touch much near the end of the file yet(well as far as I got recording). Is there any suggestions as to how I might create a more \"live\" sound and maybe some help with reverb/eq/balance? This is quite a different story when trying to do this with midi and im going nuts [img]/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/smile.gif[/img] Here is the excerpt. Please any help in how to improve the control would be most appreciated.

http://home.cfl.rr.com/delly/Tchai5thexcerpt.mp3

Re: help

Nicole,