• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Topic: What's the best way to use GPO?

Share/Bookmark

What\'s the best way to use GPO?

I have been reading/sending posts since GPO was first offered and I have yet to see any detailed method of employing GPO with a sequencer/notation program.

I have been composing MIDI score since 1987 and have used many sequencers and notation programs along the way. My method is to write the score FIRST with pencil and paper and then sequence the instruments track by track, making sure that the velocity/CC7 is balanced and that the blend of instruments doesn\'t produce MIDI noise which interferes with the clarity of the instruments.

In reading many posts I find that GPO is managed by MIDI (tools) as any sampled instrument would be as far as receiving instructions, etc. Is this all there is to it or am I missing something? Many users relate that GPO is so easy to use, and then there are the complaints from users having nightmares. As a Mac user, I expect to have my share of these bad dreams but I just wondered how many of you are manipulating the program; that is, input for GPO playback.

Since my Mac iBook isn\'t fast enough to handle a small GPO orchestra, I will be purchasing a new G4 laptop (1.5Ghz CPU and 1G of RAM). It will hold 2G max. Also will be purchasing GPO soon after. Will this machine be suitable for a sizeable GPO orchestra. Oh, and yes, I am also a Logic 6 user (since V1.0). I feel your sympathy already, but this is such a great forum that I know if I need some in depth help, there will be answers.

Regards, John Cannon

Re: What\'s the best way to use GPO?

It\'s good you said Logic and not ProTools, that is where the most Mac problems are currently...