• Register
  • Help

Topic: orchestration ( demo song )

orchestration ( demo song )

today, I was fuxxed by a anonymous musician, he said that my orchestrating skill is crap, he also mention that I am not sure how to connect string with brass section, does anyone could give me some nice suggest for my song please ?

( This song is running on EWQL orchestra set )

if you are good at orchestration, please also contact me on MSN / ICQ:
    MSN: lkthomashk@hotmail.com

I am just a newbie on orchestration, Thanks for your helping

Wink Re: orchestration ( demo song )

Hi IkThomas,

I was listening to your song and the following points I´ve noticed. My English is a little bit rusty, so I hope my explanations are understandable.

1) The beginning with the piano-part is quite good. Maybe the rhythmus trembles a little bit too much - this playing could be more realistic. But the strings are fine.

2) The next section is boring referring to the composition aspect. The background-strings always play a legato chord without any movements. Maybe you can work with some transitions instead of simple chord changes. Try to figure out a second and maybe a third melody, which strenghten the main melody. Make the whole part more interesting for the audiance as well as "for the musicians" which play your composition. Always try to imagine you for yourself are sitting in an orchestra and you´re playing a composition. Would it be interesting to play the composition or is it just an ordinary thing and you want it to be finished as fast as possible ....