• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Topic: Hello, and have yourselves an oboe

Share/Bookmark

Smile Hello, and have yourselves an oboe

Hey everyone. It's my first time posting here, and I thought I would start off by offering an oboe refill for Reason. I'm a starving college student who cannot yet afford GPO, so I thought I would play around with the idea of making my own sample libraries. I wasn't satisfied with the oboe included with Reason's Orkester library. So I took the royalty-free oboe samples from the University of Iowa's music department web site, sliced 'em, diced 'em, mapped 'em, looped 'em, and finally tuned them... and many hours later, I have a working 6 MB oboe refill!

http://personal.stthomas.edu/cwmuggl...onableoboe.rfl

For those who would rather not download it, here is a short MP3 demo of the oboe sample:

http://personal.stthomas.edu/cwmugglimil/oboedemo.mp3

Every single note is sampled, and there are three velocity-mapped dynamic levels: pp, mf, and ff. The mod wheel adds vibrato, while aftertouch changes the volume/intensity of the sound.

It's not the best oboe in the world, I know, but I thought that after all the work I did it really doesn't sound too bad and could definitely be useable. The hardest part was finding loop points, and I didn't get all of them perfect, but most people probably won't notice. Just load the one and only patch, called "A Reasonable Oboe", into the NN-XT and play around. Use those controllers!--the added expression really helps the sound--but you sampling veterans probably need not hear that.