• Register
  • Help

Topic: Realistic Guitar Libraries?

Share/Bookmark

Realistic Guitar Libraries?

Hi Everyone,
    Newbie here, I have a question I was hoping to get some feedback on. Im after a high quality electric guitar sample library to use preferably with Kontakt (Giga is also fine). I tried Zimmer guitars and its really not up to the job, Im after something that I could actually sell as a real guitar! Does such a product exsist? If not, why do you think that is - what is it about the instrument that defies sampling?

Re: Realistic Guitar Libraries?

Quote Originally Posted by tee boy
    Hi Everyone,
    Newbie here, I have a question I was hoping to get some feedback on. Im after a high quality electric guitar sample library to use preferably with Kontakt (Giga is also fine). I tried Zimmer guitars and its really not up to the job, Im after something that I could actually sell as a real guitar! Does such a product exsist? If not, why do you think that is - what is it about the instrument that defies sampling?
    Hi.

I think that one problem with the electric guitar, when it comes to sampling it, is the fact that when you play a chord on the real thing, the signal that comes out from the mikes are the result of the combined signal from all strings put together. If you play a chord using samples, where each sample are a separate note, you don't get the same result, it simply doesn't sound right.
    A electric guitar are also played through some kind of amp, and that to adds it's behavour to the sound.
    Also, when playing the guitar, the player can add so much extra, like slides, pull off's, hammer ons, bending, different kinds of vibratos and legatos and even mistakes that adds to the realism and the way we are used to hearing a guitar.

There are some good samples out there, but in my opinion, electric guitar are, together with saxophone, instruments that are very hard to sample.
    Both because of playing techniques and the way the tone is created