• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Topic: Oboe solo - An Experiment

Share/Bookmark

Oboe solo - An Experiment

A few weeks ago somebody posted some flute solos done in different church modes. Thinking of them I decided to play around with the solo woodwinds and some church modes.

For this I was playing with the Locrian mode. Kind of strange since the I is diminished so I cheated and used a chord based on fourths for the main theme. Besides playing with a new mode, I decided to try to write this totally away from any instrument. I’ve never tried anything like that before so this was a new experience all around.

One thing I hate about this forum is every time I make a sound I want to post it, even if it’s a bit of nothing, like this. Oh well, you’ll just have to bear with me.

http://trentsworld.com/music/postings/locrian-oboe.mp3
    Trent P. McDonald

Re: Oboe solo - An Experiment

Trent,

I think that was my suite for solo flute you're thinking of. Nice job on the oboe piece. I have a soft spot for modal and quartal harmony. Don't think twice about cheating Locrian. Raising the fifth for harmonic purposes is perfectly acceptable and sensible. It's even mentioned in Persichetti's very awesome theory book (20th Century Harmony; Creative Aspects and Practice).

-Chad

Isn't rasing the 5th of locrian..simply...a different mode? (ie..that would make it phrygian)

Locrian b,c,d,e,f,a,b,c
    Phrigian b,c,d,e, fsharp,a,b,c

Quote Originally Posted by dcornutt
    Isn't rasing the 5th of locrian..simply...a different mode? (ie..that would make it phrygian)

Locrian b,c,d,e,f,a,b,c
    Phrigian b,c,d,e, fsharp,a,b,c
    Yes. But in order to avoid the dimished tonic chord, some people opt to raise the fifth. So, whenever you have the tonic you raise the 5th. When it's not for the tonic, leave it as is. It's decent compromise as you don't really lose the Locrian flavor too much.