• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Topic: "...too many notes."

"...too many notes."

Here is my "Piano 227". I wrote it for a brilliant, virtuoso pianist. She could not play it at tempo.
    She told me, "You left no room for my fingers to 'breathe' ".

This brings to mind what the emperor is supposed to have said to Mozart. "...too many notes."

It is all GPO with the exception of the percussion.

It probably has "too many notes". Y'all will be the ultimate judges of that.
    (I AM from the South.)

Regards to all,

Larry A.

Re: "...too many notes."

Oh, IÕll bet this would be a piece of cake for Piano Man or Nicole hehe.

This brings back old memories of when I was a young guitarist and spent hours trying to master PaganiniÕs Perpetual Motion or one of his violin caprices, just as fast as my poor tired fingers could play.

But then, the advantage of GPO is that you donÕt have to really play at break-neck speed. Just let GaryÕs little guys do it for you. Such fun. By the wayÉ love the piece.

Hi Larry,

the many notes do not disturb me, but I don´t like the sound of your piece. It sounds very synthi and very unnatural. Please don´t get me wrong - the composition for itself is ok, but it sounds to me like a machine where you have to insert a coin at the top and then it starts to play a programmed cue. Unfortunately I have to say that there is much more potential in this song.

I hope I didn´t hurt you, but I just wanna be honest and give some advice and feedback.

"Time is the best teacher. But unfortunately she kills all her students ..." - Terry Pratchett

The piano part doesn't sound incredibly difficult to play, although like your pianist said, I think it would require a great deal of stamina. But I think a prof. pianist would have no problems playing this even up to this speed.