• Register
  • Help

Topic: GPO & DP 4.12

Share/Bookmark

Question GPO & DP 4.12

Hello everyone.

I have just installed GPO to use as a plug-in with Digital Performer 4.12 on a Mac with OS 10.3.2

I installed, registered, but GPO still isn't showing up in my mixer drop-down window in DP. I did try trashing the AU Pref file as suggested on the GPO help page, but to no avail.

I'm not sure if I've forgotten something or I am missing something. This is my first time using a sampler plug-in with DP. :P Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks!
    Clo

Re: GPO & DP 4.12

Quote Originally Posted by Dimora
    I'm not sure if I've forgotten something or I am missing something. This is my first time using a sampler plug-in with DP. :P Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks!
    Clo
    Using plugin instruments in DP requires a couple of more steps than in some other DAWs...here's a quick tutorial, assuming you have GPO installed properly, a working MIDI interface/keyboard, and DP4 Hardware setup is already configured to playback audio with a valid output bundle.

1. From the Project Menu: Add Track->Instrument Track->Garritan Personal Orchestra (Stereo) - the GPO plugin interface will open. Load a sound...

2. Again from the Project Menu: Add Track->MIDI Track

3. Using new MIDI track's output pop-up menu (in the Tracks Overview, Sequence Edit or Mixer), assign the MIDI track to the GPO channel your sound is loaded on (Garritan Personal Orchestra 1-1 ( thru 1-16 - an additional GPO plugin would be number 2-1 thru 2-16, etc.)

4. Record-enable the MIDI track...you should now hear GPO when you play your MIDI keyboard.

5. if for some reason you don't hear anything, check Studio Menu->MIDI Patch Thru and make sure it is set to Auto-Channelize, and while you're at it make sure "Patch Thru in Background" is enabled.

good luck,
    Brian

Brian,

Thanks for the quick tutorial. This is very helpful for DP users