• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Topic: Kirk Hunter Virtuoso Series Strings-anyone using it?

Share/Bookmark

Kirk Hunter Virtuoso Series Strings-anyone using it?

Hello everybody! I am pretty new to the wonderful world of orchestral samples and as far as my gear goes... well I guess I'm pretty old-school: I have got a Roland XV-5080 with 128 MB of sample RAM, and I was wondering if anyone could tell me how big the patches in the Kirk Hunter VSS are. You see, I've got very limited RAM. I guess I could handle pathes up to 16 MB size, but anything bigger than that would just make it difficult if I was to compose "big-sounding" structures. I have recently got the AO-lib and think that the string-ensemble patches is this library are big enough (approx. 10-12MB).

Now, as I said just recently I bought the Advanced Orchestra Set to improve my orchestral mock-ups (I've been using the XV-5080 with SRX-04 and -06 as well as the extremely useless E-mu Virtuoso 2000 up until now). Even though the AO-library is old, I like some of the strings (particulary the "lurking behind a corner"-esque pizzicatos, and the library itself is certainly much (understatement) better than both the (over-compressed) SRX-04 and-06 exp cards). Because I like some/many of the strings in AO very much I wonder if they would blend well with the Kirk H Virtuoso Series Strings? If not, is there any other sample-libraries that could give me some kick-[nss][nss][nss] strings that is also ment for older samplers? (remember that I don't use giga)

Re: Kirk Hunter Virtuoso Series Strings-anyone using it?

You might want to take a look at Garritan's Lite version of his Orchestral Strings.