• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Topic: Reverb Suggestion

Reverb Suggestion

I'm very particular about what reverb I use, so this may be of no use to many of you. I've used the impulses, etc. and like them very much, but when I'm looking for a solid, high-quality reverb, I use the FREE vst plug-in, Freeverb Too.

I'm sure many of you have heard of this already, but I wanted to recommend it to those who haven't. It can be tuned very nicely and sounds great.

Re: Reverb Suggestion

Thanks for the suggestion.

I'm very new to GPO and would rather ask you a question if I may than try to be clever. I am ending with either very flat mixes (no depth) or too muddy (too much reverb). I just can not seem to find the midway. How do you propose to use reverb settings? Do you use different settings for different instruments with multiple reverb busses?

PS I use Sonar 3.1.1 and tried Lexicon, Ambience, Sonitus and SIR. I seem to get better results with Ambience or SIR for orchestral stuff, but still can not get the mix satisfactory.

Put your verb on an aux bus, and send from each instrument to it. Least for the up front instruments, more and more send the further back into the orchesta you get. If you want a classical orchestra 'from a distance', like some classical recordings, then even the up front instruments are rather wet. Best way I know to 'tweak' is to get a good recording of the sound you're looking for, then A/B your mix versus the recording.

Sometimes a verb will need EQ, especially if you use convolution reverb, depending on the impulse you're starting with and style of music. The low-mids and mids can quickly muddy up.

That is a very cool idea. Now how do you do it? I'm using Sonar 3 Producer and haven't found a way to send to the aux bus from a midi instrument, unless I have an audio track for each instrument. Is that the answer?

Hi Cody,