• Register
  • Help

Topic: "Crazy Polyphony"

Share/Bookmark

"Crazy Polyphony"

Hello, I'll keep my very first post short and to -> point.

I want to use GS3 for orchestral composition and so I'm seeking advice on how best to "get crazy polyphony."
    Reading the GS3 FAQ I'm aware of the preferred specs for the new system, however since I have no experience with building my own PCs I'd much rather pay someone else for a stable system.
    I've already began to get prices from the big makers like Dell, Gateway, etc... and have looked at many online and physical stores.
    I hope some of you experts will be willing to point me in some good directions to find a machine and/or maker that would be great with the new version.
    THANKS very much in advance!

Guessing the following specs are in order:
    WinXP
    P4 3GHz+
    2GB RAM
    DVD-Rom
    2-drive RAID, 10000 SATA
    GSIF 2

Re: "Crazy Polyphony"

I just put together the following system to be ready for GS3

P4 3.2 Northwood
    Asus P4C800-E deluxe (V1016)
    RME HDSP 9632 (2.81)
    RME AO4S-192
    Corsair TwinX2048-3200 (2gig) @2.5-3-3-8
    Asus V9520 FX 5200
    2x Raptor 74GB 10k in Raid 0 (piano samples)
    2x WD 80 GB 7200 (Sata) in Raid 1 (system/mirror)
    Pioneer 107D DVD-RW
    Antec Sonata with extra 120mm fan
    Sonar v3 PE
    Adobe Audition 1.5
    GS3 (soon!)

PS I'm mainly interested in piano libraries with no clicks/pops and the lowest possible latency....(apart from 160+ polyphony)

Quote Originally Posted by mal7
    I just put together the following system to be ready for GS3

P4 3.2 Northwood
    Asus P4C800-E deluxe (V1016)
    RME HDSP 9632 (2.81)
    RME AO4S-192
    Corsair TwinX2048-3200 (2gig) @2.5-3-3-8
    Asus V9520 FX 5200
    2x Raptor 74GB 10k in Raid 0 (piano samples)
    2x WD 80 GB 7200 (Sata) in Raid 1 (system/mirror)
    Pioneer 107D DVD-RW
    Antec Sonata with extra 120mm fan
    Sonar v3 PE
    Adobe Audition 1.5
    GS3 (soon!)

Hey, KicketySplit,