• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Topic: "Electric Percussion" Question

Question "Electric Percussion" Question

Hello...newbie here looking for assistance from seasoned veterans.

I am wondering what some of the best programs/devices/software/etc. for 'electronic percussion' and similar effects are used in compositions commonly seen in movie trailers. E.S. Posthumus ("Pompeii"...Spiderman trailer and several others) and Craig Armstrong ("Escape" - The Patriot trailer...Romeo Must Die trailer...."This Love" Cruel Intentions) are artists that would offer good representations of what I have in mind.

If you have any further questions, please do not hesitate to let me know. Thank you for your assistance!

Re: "Electric Percussion" Question

Hey B dogg, I can only think that "stylus" from spectrasonics have that kind of electric drums.(www.spectrasonics.net) I haven't tried stylus but I will have it in my pocession one day. I recently bought something called "adrenaline" which is a plug-in from EASTWEST(http://www.soundsonline.com/sophtml/...tml?sku=PSP-09). I am looking for electric percussion myself. I'll try out adrenaline for you (haven't even installed it yet due to problems with my computer) I'll fire it up and let you know what it's like.

Unfortunately I'm not to familiar with the trailers in question but electric percussion leads me in one of two very different directions. 1) Some of the very film score like selection in Quantum Leap Storm Drum. You can listen to some of the demo for it at www.soundsonline.com. 2) The analogue drum set style electronic percussion of Mircrtonic (a VST plug-in you can learn more about at www.kvr-vst.com). I'm curious as to whether either of those directions are what you are talking about.

Theres lots of elctronic kits and sound morphing possiblities that come with NI`s Battery.Rich

Senior Member Bruce A. Richardson's Avatar
    Dallas, Texas