• Register
  • Help

Topic: Looking on advice for music degree

Question Looking on advice for music degree

sponsored links

After many many years and many many sleepless nights, I have come to believe my calling in life is some how related to music but specificly I have no idea what I want to do, but if I had to go to college some form of music study would be what I'm interested in. This is where I'm lost and looking for advice. I can barely read music but I play keyboard by ear pretty well. Idealy 5-10 years from now I see myself making music for film or multimedia, or possibly related to the music technology. I am pretty new at sampling and giga studio and the like, and trying to teach myself how to use these programs as well as mixing and everything else sometimes seems more of a headache than fun. How ever when I just sit down to play I am having a ball. I was wondering is there anywhere online or does any one know of some sort of classes one could enroll in to actually be able to sit down and know what the heck they are doing with all the technology in midi, and mixing and everything else involved? If anyone has been through or has a degree in music technology or audio engineering that could tell me more about it I would appriciate it. I realize too that some big composers out there have little to no formal training in music such as Hans Zimmer, I guess I'd just like to know what all is involved. Thanks,

Re: Looking on advice for music degree

Hi Seth,