• Register
  • Help

Topic: Sound Card

Share/Bookmark

Sound Card

Hello everybody, I have been reading through these forums for quite a while and have finally purchased GPO. I work as a sound designer and decided that I should explore my compositional abilities. First off, I would like to thank Gary for such a wonderful tool... GPO is simply amazing. Also many thanks to all of the wonderful GPO composers on this forum.

Currently, the machine I am using at work has an Audigy LS, which is a horrible sound card. Cubasis hardly works with it. I am constantly having dropouts with the audio... unuseable. My boss told me that I could simply take back the card and upgrade it to an Audigy2.

Though important, I rarely see people listing what type of sound cards that they're using. So I was wanting to know what you guys would reccomend a guy like me. RME products are a bit out of the league as far as pricing is concerned, but in my personal searches I have been looking at m-audio and echo. I guess I would like something around $100-200. Would an Audigy2 be acceptable for the time being?? Thanks in advance for your advice.

-Michael Franke

Current Computer Specs: Pentium4 2.4Ghz, 1gig RAM, running XP Pro

Re: Sound Card

Quote Originally Posted by Michael Franke
    Currently, the machine I am using at work has an Audigy LS, which is a horrible sound card. Cubasis hardly works with it. I am constantly having dropouts with the audio... unuseable. My boss told me that I could simply take back the card and upgrade it to an Audigy2.

Like most such questions -- "it depends." Are you using your machine for serious production work? What other software are you using with it? That will dictate your sound card requirements.