• Register
  • Help

Topic: "67 Cities"

Share/Bookmark

"67 Cities"

Alright... So, finally, I've arranged an entire piece of music using only instruments provided by GPO. I think I got very satisying results considering that I arranged the entire piece BY EAR (just listening to a CD soundtrack and transcribing what I heard to Overture). I'm so proud of myself. Anyway, this is a piece from a documentary film that was released last year. I really wanted to see how many of you can guess the film or the composer (one of my personal favorites), or both. Some of you may not even know the song, but can guess the composer from the style of writing. The song is called "67 Cities." I need tips, comments, and critiques on my arrangement PLEASE!!! (oh and please listen to the whole piece before commenting)

Hopefully the link works (this is my first time posting music)

http://www.soundclick.com/util/strea...D=1411477&q=Hi

if not, download the mp3 "67 Cities" from this page

http://www.soundclick.com/bands/7/coldroadmusic.htm
    Last edited by 88chopin; 07-14-2004 at 12:18 PM. Reason: posted an incorrect link

Re: "67 Cities"

I listened to this song this morning and I liked it then as I do now. I have no idea who composed it or where its from, but that doesn't matter I guess. The only thing I'd say (and this is inherit in this type of situation) is that the repeated notes do get 'repetative'. A little tweaking may get rid of this, or some VAR 2 control when we have access to that in the next update. Aside from that the main melodies sounded great. I can't wait to find out who composed this originally so I can check it out and compare. But, I'll say this, to think that you composed all this by ear, that is tantamount unto itself and you deserve a large pat on the back for that alone.

I agree with Joseph, good job--it must have been rather time consuming with music of this nature. It sounds sort of Philip Glass-ish to me.
    Richard Galbraith