• Register
  • Help

Topic: Sampling - Do It Yourself

Sampling - Do It Yourself

Re: Sampling - Do It Yourself

I've been an avidly sampling since I bought my first S950 when I was a student (which I still use) and my personal library is umpteen times bigger than my purchased libraries. I can't claim to have reached the EWQLSO level of fidelity and quality but most of the stuff I've done this past decade has been plenty good enough for work. So much has been sampled using the Akai samplers because their sonic fidelity is so impressive and the machines are very quiet. Its now much easier to edit on the current crop of softsamplers and it takes far less time to construct a good working instrument, but I still sometimes use the Akais for the sampling process, mainly because I just know them so well.

The most essential software I've used has been Wavelab, ever since its release which I use in tandem with Kontakt for editing. The recording chain is as simple as I can make it: A Rode NT2000 for mono or NT4 for stereo, and an apogee mini-me preamp. Waves plug-ins have been indispensible for processing. That's it. Very simple and barely anything in the way of messy wires!.

I think sampling is an essential part of electronic music making, wether for pseudo-acoustic ends or not, and I think anybody who hasn't dipped their feet into it is missing out on a thoroughly enjoyable aspect of music making.
    Trev Parks

Thumbs up Re: Sampling - Do It Yourself

Quote Originally Posted by Sharmy
    No tips Heath, I'm still in GS land but having done a bunch of sampling and editing, I now wish developers of certain products could, or would make available their raw data for a fee, of their initial sessions. It would allow users who really want to do some customizing a real oppurtunity to do so. There's a real joy in creating something cool that no one else has. Companies would only have to package the product and no editing would be required.

Pretty cool deal for all concerned.