• Register
  • Help

Topic: Getting started with orchestration... where to go?

Getting started with orchestration... where to go?

Hi guys, I just registered here (and got my copy of GPO about a week ago). Anyway, I have never done any orchestration myself before, yet would really like to get into it (mostly for film scoring).

I have been studying music theory since I was 11 (I am 21 now), and play the guitar, piano, various percussions, and have had vocal training. I am currently a music minor at my local university and also in their Recording and music production program (brand new) and it is there that GPO was suggested. Anyway, I have been creating music using my computer for about 10 months now, but it has mostly been electronic dance music, recorded some rock, and various other "popular" genres of music.

This is my problem right here, my background is mostly popular music. In one year, I will begin working as an assistant engineer for a music producer in LA (he won the producer of the year grammy once). He knows some of the big film scorers such as Hans Zimmer.

So, long story short, I want to do film scoring I love listening to film scores, etc... but I have no idea where to start. I will not be able to take the relevant music classes at my university before I graduate so somehow I have to teach myself (or maybe take evening classes or something in LA once I move there).

So, how would you suggest I proceed, are there any materials, etc... I could use to get started. I feel a bit overwelmed right now.

I use Logic Pro and have various other sample libraries (and hardware / software more for what I have been doing so far), as well as Finale (that is what I have been using at schol so I purchased a copy).

Anyway, any suggestions are well appreciated. I hope I will be able to achieve my dream (I knew since I was 10 I wanted to do something with music. I didn't know exactly what yet, but my interest has been leaning more and more towards film scoring).