• Register
  • Help

Topic: Newbie but Nicebie

Newbie but Nicebie

Hello all. I'm new to these fora and I find you all a informed, cordial and affable bunch, so I hope you won't mind too much when I ask you a Typical Newbie Question™.

I'm switching from Logic 5 on the PC to Logic 6 on Mac OSX soon and I've decided it's time to ditch the wonderful (but non Audio Units supporting) Edirol Orchestral and go for something a little bit better - like GPO. I hope to run GPO on both Mac and PC platforms - though not at the same time. My budget is around £200 and obviously the other contender is EWQLSO Silver. I'll be posting a similar question in that forum too but what I would appreciate from you guys is an account of what GPO is like to use in practise, rather than a comparison between these two (excellent) products.

In particular, I am concerned with what GPO is like to use "out of the box". Is tweaking needed to get the thing to sound right, or are all the articulations there right away? Likewise, is it more suited to certain kinds of music? For example, I have heard all the demos on the site and while the Debussy Sketchbook absolutely blew me away, The Sorcerers' Apprentice failed to impress - the bassoons sounded synthetic. How much of this was down to programming - I consider myself a competent orchestrator but I would rather spend my time writing music than tweaking keymaps and velocity curves. Finally - how does it run? I plan to use it on a PC and a Mac G4 Pwerbook, both with (at most) 1GB of RAM. Am I setting myself up for a disappointment?

Any feedback would be warmly appreciated, especially from Mr Garritan, himself. It's great that a maker of software chooses to engage with the users of his software in such a direct and immediate way, would that other software makers could be that inciteful.

Once again, great forum.

West Seneca, NY

Thumbs up Re: Newbie but Nicebie