• Register
  • Help

Topic: Please have patience with a complete novice!

Please have patience with a complete novice!

I've searched around the internet and this forum seems to be the perfect place to ask my question, please have patience with me since i hardly know anything about sampling/midi/digital sound and so on...

I will probably ask questions that are covered in a FAQ or a beginner post somewhere. If so, i'm sorry. I've searched around a bit and tried to read up on what i want to know but there's just too much info everywhere.

So, what am i looking for? Actually, i'm not really sure!

I play the Piano, mostly classical. I used to have a Grand Piano but when i moved there was no place for it so i sold it and now i'm playing on a digital Piano (Kawai CA950).
    I'm pretty happy with this piano, it's not a grand piano by a long shot but it's good enough for me to practise on.
    I only play as a hobby, i've got no proffesional plans.
    It sounds ok, but (and now i'm finally approaching the point) i've listened to demos of different samples of pianosounds on the net that are much better!

I didn't think much of it at first, there's no way i can change the samples that are in my Kawai anyway, i've thought.
    But i believe i can "change" the samples? Not actually change the samples that the Kawai holds as much as using other means to get better sound.

From what i understand i have many options, of which all costs a fair bit of money. Hardware with samples i can plug into the Kawai or software for the PC and then plug the Kawai into the PC.
    I've read about soundfonts, how does this work? What do i need to use theese, and how do i go about it. Are there any free soundfonts that are any good i could test?