• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Topic: Ok - stupid question here - Impusles?

Share/Bookmark

Ok - stupid question here - Impusles?

Hi All!
    Bear in mind that I am a total newbie at software based stuff - what are impulses? Do they have to deal with reverb? What software uses them?

Thanks for your patience and time in responding.

Jerry Wickham
    MacBook Pro Intel Core 2 Duo 2.5ghz 4GB Ram OSX 10.5.8
    Korg TritonLe & MAudio Oxygen 8
    T3, Logic 9, DP7, K2, GPO4, Strad, Gofriller, C&MB, Finale 2010

My Website!
    New Film Scores!
    Also, Ever think about having your very own personal documentary? See my new Website!
    http://www.mylegacyfilm.com

Re: Ok - stupid question here - Impusles?

Hi Jerry,

Impulses are vernacular for 'Impulse Responses', which are mathematically processed recordings of the reverbration characteristics of a given space. This could be a canyon, a room, a car interior, or a concert hall. They got their name from the technique - often firing a starter's pistol (an impulse) and recording the resulting sound over time (response).

This 'response recording' gets processed, so that it can be used with a 'convolver' - a software program capable of combining the IR with an audio signal so that the result is the audio signal appearing to be in the IR's space. This process is generally called Convolution Reverb, and there are some very good programs now for this -AltiVerb for Mac, Space Designer (Logic Pro), and others.

There are free convolvers available (try googling on 'SIR', a popular one), and many free (and some very excellent) IR's.

Trond

Thanks Trond for taking the time to reply.

I had a feeling they were something like that. I will definitely investigate these! I would love to ad that kind of enhancement to my recordings.

Thanks so much for your help!!

Jerry Wickham
    MacBook Pro Intel Core 2 Duo 2.5ghz 4GB Ram OSX 10.5.8
    Korg TritonLe & MAudio Oxygen 8