• Register
  • Help

Topic: which PIANO with MIDI OUT ???

Question which PIANO with MIDI OUT ???

Hi girls & guys,

I am a guitarist (well, at least I think I am...) but want to learn some basic piano. So I looked around and found the new Casio Digital-Piano Privia PX-500L
    and the Casio PL-40R.

Both have a learn function. You can load midi-songs into them and it gives you the chords to play in highlighted piano-keys (which to me is cool as I don't really want to get a piano teacher just for basic piano)...

my question is: what do you think of the concept in general and:

while the PX-500L is 32 polyphone the PL-40 R is 64. Does something like this only apply to the sounds in the piano or to the midi output also??? Does it make that much of a difference (I mean the polyphony?) or is 32 basically enough???

One more feature the PL-40 R has is a LED that in addition to the highlighted piano keys shows you which of your fingers to use to play a chord. But I don'T know if that feature alone justifies several hundred dollars more, while the polyphony question might???

Thankx to all of you in advance

Re: which PIANO with MIDI OUT ???

In this situation, polyphony is the number of notes that can be sounded simultaneously. This piano will have some type of "note stealing" algorithm, meaning if you are in a situation where you are trying to get the keyboard to sound more than 32 notes at the same time (e.g. if you held the sustain pedal down and played a lot of notes), some notes will just drop off (usually the first notes played, sounding the most current notes).

Polyphony IS a feature that can be important, but most important if you were talking about a keyboard/piece of software that had an onboard midi sequencer, and you were trying to play back a song with a lot of parts (like an orchestral score).