• Register
  • Help

Topic: Unweighted 88 key controllers??

Share/Bookmark

Question Unweighted 88 key controllers??

Im wondering if there is a market for unweighted, or semi weighted 88 key pro controller keyboards...Im not a pianist, and I seem to be able to perform samples of instruments (other than piano, mostly orchestral) more accuratley, and efficiently with semi, or unweighted synth action keyboards...percussion for instance.. I use my controller only in the studio..Ive been using my Triton 76 key as a controller for the past 4 or 5 years, and I hardley ever use it for its onboard sounds..its just a controller..I really liked the idea of the M-Audio Keystation Pro 88, with all the controller features..but the inconsistant velocity issue, weird velocity ranges, and keyboard action didnt work out for me. (see Keystation 88 Pro thread) Ive been researching the net, but havent found any unweighted 88 key controllers with all the knobs and sliders as the Keystation has...most dont even have mod wheels!...Am I the only one who would like to see more unweighted, or semi weighted professional 88 key studio controllers?

Re: Unweighted 88 key controllers??

i have the Studiologic TMK-88 with semi-weighted action. It is a decent keyboard for cheap and super light as well (13 lbs). However the VMK-88 has all the knobs and whatnot that you want. You may want to check it out.

For playing synthesizer (non-piano) sounds, I find a good semi-weighted board vital to the feel. I have not had the chance to play the VMK-88, but if it is playable, i want one -big time...
    Dasher
    -------
    It's all about the music - really. I keep telling myself that...

For a long time, I have been dreaming someone makes "mini" 88-keyboard for mobile use.
    Kentaro Sato (Ken-P)
    Composer/Conductor/Orchestrator
    www.wisemanproject.com

Quote Originally Posted by matthew