• Register
  • Help

Topic: Using Garritan Orchestra with Ensoniq ASR-10

Share/Bookmark

Question Using Garritan Orchestra with Ensoniq ASR-10

I'm a newbie guy at all this electronic music stuff. Well, not too new. I have an Ensoniq ASR-10 and I use an old version of Finale to score my music. I have listened to some of the Orchestra samples by Garritan Orchestra and am amazed. I don't know where to go from here. I keep seeing references to Kontakt, GigaStudio, and other programs. I would like to keep the ASR-10 as my MIDI controller (so I don't have to buy a new one). Can anyone out there give me some tips on how to ideally put it all together? Sorry if vague, maybe with some responses I'll be able to better express it all. Thanks for your expertise.

Re: Using Garritan Orchestra with Ensoniq ASR-10

Hi Shelfos, it's great that you already have a controller keyboard, keep it. I am assuming that it has a mod wheel on it. The mod wheel allows you to create natural dynamics and feel while you are playing in the notes. I personally don't use a notation program, but I do use Digital Performer, http://www.motu.com no, I don't work for MOTU.... DP is a sequencer/digital audio workstation (DAW) software program. If you don't have a DAW of some type, I would highly recommend getting one because it will allow you the ultimate flexibilty and ease of mixing all these sounds to produce a natural sounding stereo product.
    Before I purchased GPO, I called and spoke with Gary Garritan and explained to him how I wanted to use the program, he then recommended the necessary equipment that I would need, he was very helpful.
    Kontakt is the software program that comes with GPO, it is where you select and load sounds/samples and make changes to midi channels etc. Giga Studio is similar to Kontakt, in that it too is a player for certain types of sample libraries, but the two are not always compatible.