• Register
  • Help

Topic: upgrade options

upgrade options

First things first, hello everybody I'm new here. I hope yr all having a lovely summer evening, at least I am here in the uk.

Here goes.

I have been writing, performing and generally dabling with music, both computer based and live, for years. Now that I am a film student, I'm finding that more and more people are asking me for music requests. You know: something emotional eh.. with strings. duh. Anyways people seem to like what i do, even managed to get paid a couple of times. I don't want to be a composer, however I do really really enjoy it. BUT my complete hotchpotch of a synthesiser/sample/music creation system is simply not up to scratch.

So I here ae some questions related to my proposed upgrades. Oh and please remember I am a student - poor, unemployable, poor, for gods sakes I'm on a gigastudio forum and I don't even own the damn thing, poor.

The computer itself is fine: 2.8 p4, 1 gig ram, 80x2 hdd.
    My main sequencer is cubase

Oh the type of music i make covers pretty much everything, but treat this post as mainy related to orchestral stuff as i have the other bases covered.

Question 1.
    For orchestral music, do i go for a sampler, or a sample based vsti. Stupid question i know: get yerself GS3 and VSL. Nope cant afford it. So here are my options. GS 2.5 32 or 96 voices plus whatevers left of my budget for a sample library. Or a good vsti such as garritan or edirol orchestral.
    My main concern about vsti is the poorer sound quality and the fact that it is not very upgradeable or expandable. My main concern with GS is that 32 or 96 voices aren't that many, also the useability of it.

Question 2.