• Register
  • Help

Topic: I hope I am posting this in the right place....

Share/Bookmark

I hope I am posting this in the right place....

Hello,

I have been composing for several years now, but only recently have I become aware of how amazing the computer can enhance composition. But I have little or no knowlege of where to begin. I would appreciate it if anyone would be willing to outline everything I need to begin. Along with the best places to purchase these items.

Thanks to anyone in advance to takes the time to help me.

Cheers...

Re: I hope I am posting this in the right place....

There is way too much to be learnt here that can be summarized in one post.
    I can give you some leads.

You need a Software sequencer, e.g., cakewalk sonar or homestudio which
    -can help you write in staff notation
    -can interact with an external keyboard through MIDI. The sounds you will hear will be those of the external keyboard.

You can stop there but if you want mor erealistic sounds, you enter the world of software sampling. Now, you need a "software synthesizer" (eg Gigastudio, kontakt,halion)which
    -takes the role of the external keyboard but is totally inside your hard drive
    -can play any sound that you have in your hard drive. So you are virtually unlimited when it comes to sample size. ---enter the world of giga samplers that stream directly frm the hard disk.
    For samples, see for example garritan, sonic implants.

You can basicaly search the web with all the keywords in my post and get all the information you need.

good luck!

Take a look at this website:

www.audiomidi.com

It is a virtual store, they list 80% of all the options you have to make music using your computer. Just look for the descriptions and you may get a good idea of what you need to start with.

Good Luck!