• Register
  • Help

Topic: Should I Switch to Personal Orchestra

Should I Switch to Personal Orchestra

I already own GOS which I use with GigaStudio and Finale. I am committed to Finale as a sequencer, but I am not totally happy with the sound quality I am getting from GOS and Giga. Probably my fault because I am not technically adept enough to know how to get better sound quality.

Anyway, I was wondering if I should switch to Personal Orchestra. I own a copy of Kontakt, but have never used it and have no idea how to even load an instrument. The interface seems rather primitive and I don't know how to link it up to Finale's MIDI output.

Do you have to know Kontakt to use Personal Orchestra? And will it work with Finale? If so, what components would I have to purchase? Is Personal Orchestra easy (or easier) to use compared to Giga and Kontakt? And what is the secret to getting the kind of sound quality I hear on many of the Demos?

Del Neroni

Del Neroni

Re: Should I Switch to Personal Orchestra

GPO offers immense expressiveness, and is capable of both intimate and grand scale realism - as you've heard from the 'demos' - while at the same time being probably the simplest sample library to use. No more of this constant headache of switching articulations ad infinitum, as with GigaStudio and other libraries - a lot of that is taken care of automatically with Tom's clever programming. With the GPO Kontakt Player (different from the full Kontakt), you don't have that many knobs and buttons to worry about or get in the way of the creative process of making music.

GPO comes with its own player, and other goodies like a sequencer (for PC), and its own reverb plugin (based on Ambience). That's all you really need.

Hope this helps,

What kind of music do you compose or play?