• Register
  • Help

Topic: echo indigo

echo indigo

Hello friends

I recently bought a ECHO Indigo IO to replace my old ECHO indigo. I was totally happy with the old one (used it with Gigastudio) but I need a guitar input.
    Two queries:

1)Is there a good place I can advertise to sell it? I wasnt sure if I can do it in theis forum.

2)Also, being a total novice with anything but MIDI, how does one record an acoustic guitar in a laptop? If I hook up the line out of my old guitar amp with the input of the indigo io I hear this huge unbearable humming noise, sounding like a morse code.

Please do let me know if you have any suggestions.

Thanks much in advance!!

Re: echo indigo

Regarding the problem recording the guitar, does it work ok if you connect the
    guitar directly to the guitar input of the Echo? Note that my understanding is that if your guitar has an internal D.I box, you'd probably be wanting to connect it to the microphone input instead. Or, if it has an internal preamp, it would then be connected to the line input of the Echo.

When you connect the amp's line out to the Echo, it should go to the line input of the Echo.

You could have a grounding problem I guess.

Take all this with a dose of salt, as I have never plugged an electric guitar into anything. ;^) I'm basing my above comments on the research I have done into old electro-acoustic pianos, some of which have an output which is similar to an electric guitar. I waited a day before replying, because I think there are others here with much better knowledge.

Oops - I see that the Indigo has neither a guitar input, nor a mic input - it only has stereo line in, and stereo line out. I guess that means you *must* use your guitar amp's line level output, unless your guitar happens to have an internal preamp. (I get the impression some guitars do have an internal preamp, or an internal DI box)