• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Topic: Loud Brass. Minus clipping, Please.

Share/Bookmark

Unhappy Loud Brass. Minus clipping, Please.

Sorry if this sounds newbie-ish, but I am still learning how to use GPO effectively.

In some of my music, I like to bring the brass out a lot. Particularly the trombones and horns. This is often in a fortissimo section. But, I am running into clipping in the samples. I usually don't set my volumes louder than 64. I want to bring the brass above the other sounds, but not at the expense of losing the full orchestra fortissimo. I do this by bringing the mod wheel full (127) for the brass I want out. And I generally keep the others around 100. Sometimes the instrument clips on its own, and sometime is clips if like 2 other instruments are playing.

My soundcard is a Creative Audigy 2.

Now, I also don't use the overlays. I don't like the way they sound at all. I generally build sections of 2 to 4 instruments.

Is there another way I can get this effect without clipping? I would rather not volume down, but If I have to, is there a way to make up for it on post-production?

Re: Loud Brass. Minus clipping, Please.

I've never gotten any clipping with GPO without applying effects to the recorded track (for example, I had a section of all the french horns and trombones, with overlays, at nearly full mod wheel and velocity without clipping). That said, maybe I just work with low overall volumes or smaller full orchestras than you.

The first thing I would do is, assuming you're using Studio, move the volume of your brass higher. In my opinion, the default volume is very low, so it doesn't get really loud even if you put the mod wheel all the way up.