• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Topic: Scary piccalo runs... notation?

Scary piccalo runs... notation?

In 2 weeks I am doing a sampling session with a Hollywood orchestra woodwind player to record an asortment of woodwind effects (he is bringing a bunch of exotic insturments) for a film I am scoring. A big chunk of this session is going be dedicated to high freequency shrills, mainly picclo runs (simular to those you hear quite ofter in John Williams' scores). We are recording at a big composer friend's studio with a seasoned recording engeneer (both who wish to remain nameless) on his Protools HD rig in 24bit. I eventually plan to release this as part of a sample library geared twords horror orchestral effects. The question I have is does anyone know how to notate these kind of runs? I am a self taught musician and dont know how to notate (I do everything via midi). I have found several of these in musical pieces that I can play and have the player mimmic (he has done this kind of thing in his line of work). Also If anyone has any suggestions on things they would like to see In this kinda library I would love to hear them. I hope this makes sense.

Re: Scary piccalo runs... notation?

Why don't you print out the score from midi ? Even if the times are not 100% correct he will get a rough idea of what you want him to play
    Theo Krueger - Composer

Kontakt 2 Scripts

Often the runs are not notated with discrete notes. Instead one often uses glissandos, which are notated as a line between notes. Sometimes the lines are straight, sometimes squiggly and sometimes with "gliss." written nearby. A composer can also simply write "improvise" or something like "overtone effects". In each case, it's up to the player to interpret the meaning. If you want to specify it tightly, discrete notes and text are about as exacting as you can expect to get. Of course, you could just play or sing what you are looking for, since you will be face to face with the player.