• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Topic: What Type of Harmony Produces a "Hollywood" Sound?

Share/Bookmark

What Type of Harmony Produces a "Hollywood" Sound?

I realize this question may be too general to answer but even some basic direction might be helpful for those of us with less experience in ths area. And besides, this topic gets much less attention than orchestration.

Here's my situation:

I've been working on a motif based piece that I want to have a 'grand', 'opening credits' kind of sound. I've arrived at a melody line that I'm satified with but I'm having a tough time finding the right 'sound' harmonically. My background is in writing pop and some jazz and needless to say these approaches aren't giving me what I want to hear. Sorry I can't be more specific (if I could I probably wouldn't need to ask).

Here's a link to a pdf leadsheet of what I've got so far:

http://www.falcon-creations.com/pdf/...mmermotif1.pdf

Thanks to falcon1 for hosting it.

Looper
    Last edited by Looper; 08-19-2004 at 07:06 PM. Reason: adding a link

Re: What Type of Harmony Produces a "Hollywood" Sound?

Hi Looper, Im far from being an orchestral expert myself but here are a couple of very general things that might help;

- Try and keep your harmonies in the basses spaced wider apart or they will probably sound too muddy.

- Strings can often be harmonised in thirds and sixths but it really depends on the sound you going for. Again depending on the sound you are striving for, you can colour with 7ths as well.

- Instead of harmony, perhaps some unison doubling might help? Flutes playing unison with violins can thicken up the sound.

- If the melody is being carried by a woodwind, try doubling with another wind. For example; Oboe and Flute, Flute and Clarinet, etc.
    ---------------------------
    - SCA - Sound Studios -
    www.sca-soundstudios.com