• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Topic: demo

Share/Bookmark

Talking demo

Hi all

I am not a GPO user but thats just a matter of time.

But I do have a piece that I wrote using GOS lite (too old fashioned!) but wasnt sure if I can post it here.

I am an amateur and dont have formal training in orchestration.
    but rather through listening and reading scores.
    So I was wondering if anyone could point out faults in my piece.
    here it is!
    www.nmr.mgh.harvard.edu/~ankumar/TheHack1.MP3

I am even embarassed to show this but unless I come put in the open
    I would never know what could be wrong with my work!

Thanks so much in advance!

Oh! I actually almost forgot to thank Garritan for improving the quality of our musical lives so much!

cheers

Talking Re: demo

Ah I forgot to mention.

You may notice that the opening theme will resemble that of a mvmt from a well known symphony :-).
    (But thats where my piece ends I guess )

thanks

Thumbs up Re: demo

Hi, trem!

I like the piece. (Is it the "funeral march" movement that you are slightly parodying?) Your counterpoint it terrific considering what you said about your composition background. The themes are nicely balanced and while a tad on the "traditional" side, the elements come together very nicely, I think.

I, too, started out with GOS/Lite and quickly added GPO (especially after pricing out some of the competing "add-on" products like Dean's Brass and Woodwind packages).

One of my only criticisms of you piece is that you don't quite seem to have a "program level" for the loudest portions of your piece and as a result, all of the levels which are lower than that are really way too low.

The piece as a composition is quite nice and the orchestration for the most part, is quite good (in my humble opinion). I listened to it twice.

You will really fly with GPO!

KevinKauai

Re: demo

Kevin