• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Topic: Notation Problems: Finale/Sibelius Solutions?

Share/Bookmark

Notation Problems: Finale/Sibelius Solutions?

I've asked a question similar to this before in relation to Overture SE so you can disregared if you've tried to help me with that.

To wit: If Overture doesn't fit my needs (and at the moment it doesn't seem to), I'll be looking to purchase either Finale 2005 or Sibelius 3. I'm not a musician, per se, but rather a musical artist with little or no technical/scholastic training. One question: will either program allow me to input/playback music without regard to time signature? That is, I don't want to be forced to count beats per measure...I just want to be able to put musical notes into an arbitrarily sized measure (that is, as big/small as I want) and for the software to play it back as written at the right tempo. Now I know it's possible...SmartScore will do it. (SmartScore is a notation/sequencer/scanner program that some Finale users may be familiar with. I'd rather not use this because I would prefer to learn a program with a larger consumer base.)

Is this possible for Finale/Sibelius?

Thanks!

Re: Notation Problems: Finale/Sibelius Solutions?

As far as I know in Finale you do need a time signature. You can hide it. You can hide barlines to make it appear that a series of measures are actually a single measure. But you do need to define a time signature. The largest time signature that I just entered was 100/1. That's one hundred whole notes per measure.

But you can actually make a composite time signature of:
    100/1 + 100/1 + 100/1 + 100/1 + 100/1

That would give you 500 whole notes in a single measure. You could tell finale not to display a time signature and this might be what you're looking for.

Hope that's not too confusing.
    Jeff

Talking Re: Notation Problems: Finale/Sibelius Solutions?

Quote Originally Posted by Jeff Turner