• Register
  • Help

Topic: Giga teleport on Firewire network is it possible?

Share/Bookmark

Giga teleport on Firewire network is it possible?

As stated,

Giga teleport is very interesting apart from the slow Lan connection. That's why i like to know if somebody uses it with a firewire network connection! Audio and midi can pass without no problem and with a very low latency! If possible ofcourse but i think this must be made practical. I have no experience with networks can somebody help me on the network road. Or is there another better sufficient way to connect and operate GS remotly.

Greetings Wilfred.

Re: Giga teleport on Firewire network is it possible?

Teleport works on IP (Internet Protocol), which runs over Ethernet - and it also runs over Firewire. It should work, in theory.

It won't use Firewire to its potential though. Firewire has an asynchronous layer that works like Ethernet - stuf happens when it happens. It also has an isochronous layer that allows a stream to reserve bandwidth, and guarantees low-latency delivery.

Async is best for data from hard drives and to printers - if the data has an error, you re-send until you get it right.

Isoc is best for live video and audio - if the data has an error, keep going. The stream isn't going to stop and wait. We have to keep the latency low.

So... Firewire should work for Teleport in theory, but it won't be used optimally.

-JF

Is an ordinary Lan connection fast enough?

Quote Originally Posted by Resident
    Is an ordinary Lan connection fast enough?
    Marginally. I've tried VST Teleport with 100Base-T, but got some clicks. If I started a browser, things would crash. If you want to use Ethernet, go for Gigabit Ethernet. It still can't guarantee low-latency Quality of Service (QoS), but it has enough bandwidth to reduce any data conflicts.

-JF

Thanks John for the answers!