• Register
  • Help

Topic: Overture Has Changed Everything

Share/Bookmark

Lightbulb Overture Has Changed Everything

Since going through Joseph's excellent tutorials and some experimentation on my own, I am fairly convinced that Overture should be my primary Orchestral sequencer instead of Cubase SX. There are several reasons for this including how dynamics, fermatas and other types of expression are handled. Overture is far, far more friendlier for classical music than either Cubase or Sibelius (which I also own.).

As I look over my setup today, I think I will use Sibelius primarily for choral work, Overture for orchestral/band/etc. work and Cubase for pop type of work. (When I mean work, I mean piece of work, not literal work. I am a hobbyist and do not do this for a living. My posted pieces will testify to that!)

I might consider using Sibelius just to get notes input, then export to MIDI and import to Overture for fine tuning as I really like how Sibelius handles entering notes.

So, my question is, does this make sense? I know it is almost ridiculous having 3 programs like this, however I've picked them up over time and for various needs. I might as well use them all.

Are there any gotchas between Overture and other programs? Bad MIDI import/export? Anything at all, or do they all play nicely together? Any comments/suggestions are more than welcome!

-Kevin
    We are the music makers, we are the dreamers of dreams …
    24" 2.4 Ghz iMac, OSX 10.4.10, MOTU 828 MKII, 2 Glyph 250 Gig external drives, Logic 9, Finale 2008 GPO, JABB, Strad, Gro, Reason 4, EWQL Storm Drum, Adrenaline, Symphonic Choirs, SO Gold,All Arturia Synths, Many NI Synths, Spectrasonics Synths, KH Strings, VEPro on a Windows 7 4x 2.8 Ghz 12 gig of RAM

Re: Overture Has Changed Everything

Kevin,