• Register
  • Help

Topic: Overture and the Fermata

Share/Bookmark

Overture and the Fermata

I'm new to Overture/GPO, but am picking some things up along the way that are issues to me and maybe to some of you. (Forgive me if this is old hat for you more experienced users.) I figure if I bring this up under the right heading, it might benefit others with the same questions.

1) Usually after a fermata, a break is desired before continuing on with the music. Is there a way to define the length of a break just after a fermata?

2) Since fermatas are usually going to appear in each track at the same place, is there a way to edit the value of the fermata in one instance and have all the other related fermatas changed? (I tried CTRL clicking each fermata I wanted to edit, but it did not work.)

3) I have found that once I have added a fermata, if I want to hear it, I cannot click on the measure before and then use the play button to hear the new fermata/new fermata length. I am forced to use the button to go to the beginning of the piece and play to get the updated fermata (and sometimes this does not work either). Am I doing something wrong? I have all the playback boxes checked. (There is question 3a. Why the playback box? When would you not want the fermata to play? Is this for editing convenience?

Sorry for all the questions. I am hoping that posting them will answer questions for others also.

-Kevin
    We are the music makers, we are the dreamers of dreams …
    24" 2.4 Ghz iMac, OSX 10.4.10, MOTU 828 MKII, 2 Glyph 250 Gig external drives, Logic 9, Finale 2008 GPO, JABB, Strad, Gro, Reason 4, EWQL Storm Drum, Adrenaline, Symphonic Choirs, SO Gold,All Arturia Synths, Many NI Synths, Spectrasonics Synths, KH Strings, VEPro on a Windows 7 4x 2.8 Ghz 12 gig of RAM

Re: Overture and the Fermata