• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Topic: The Guide to MIDI Orchestration book

Share/Bookmark

The Guide to MIDI Orchestration book

Hello all forum readers. I want to take a few minutes of your time to let you know that my new book, The Guide to MIDI Orchestration, 3rd edition is now shipping. For those of you who are familiar with the 2nd edition, I thank you for your previous purchase and tell you that I am excited at what you will find in the new book. For those of you who have not heard of the book, please indulge me because of course, this is a sales thread. Interestingly, this product is a “one of kind” and as such, I don’t mind “bragging” on it a bit. Many of you have already preordered the book and I am posting this information for those who have not heard of it -- as an "FYI" thread (and yes, hopefully, we'll make a little money off of it as well).

Most of you have never heard of me or my book. I am a composer/pianist, classically trained-- four theatrical films from the mid 80's, tons of commercials, documentaries, television work/themes, album work (pop, adult alternative, jazz, smooth jazz, etc). My album The Eyes of the Morrow from 1997 sold more than 30,000 copies and was in the top 10 selling “new age” albums for several years. I have conducted many orchestras for recorded works as well as live performances. I have performed and been a featured soloist with the Atlanta Symphony Orchestra. I’m no James Horner, John Williams or others. However, like many of you, I am an excellent composer. My background is in composing/orchestrating for real orchestra. However, in the early ‘90s, my budgets began to get cut but my hiring producers wanted the “same” type of product-- full orchestra sound, excellent production values, big sound-- all on a new $5000 budget. Help!