• Register
  • Help

Topic: Newbie makes music with GPO

Newbie makes music with GPO

Ok, I wanted to share what I could do with GPO "out of the box" as a total newbie who never used MIDI or sequencers or samplers before. I had some old music pieces I had written when studying theory in high school, and finally got to hear what they sounded like (beyond picking them out on the piano)!

And I discovered, for example, that what I thought was a string quartet sounded much better with woodwinds and harp, and that another, slow quartet had a completely different character when sped up and placed on harpsichord!

Yes, I know more can be done to make the orchestrations sound more realistic, but this is what could be done in an evening by the amateur.

There are 4 mp3s at: http://www.stockbob.com/music

Give them a listen, won't you?

Re: Newbie makes music with GPO

Opus 1 is pretty damn good to come from an amatuer. Have a soggy day.

Chandler, Arizona

Nice stuff?

Nice Soggy titles on your website especially the Soggy Schmegma. Sort of reminds me of my old bands name - Amgems.

I liked Opus 1 especially when it swithed to plucked bass.
    I enjoyed where "For Leanne" took me.
    Wow, I think I liked Opus 1 Baroque better!
    "An Elegy.." I liked this, especially the last part. I felt like the first 23 seconds kinda were a trip to nowhere, but after that, a nice trip indeed. So why did you let that one end in a minor but "Opus 1" in a major? Just curious to know, cause I don't know squat about making musical decisions. It's great you can pull something out you wrote so long ago and "perform" it now. I'm envious of your (if even limited) high school studies, it would be nice to have been exposed to that in high school.
    As they say, "let's have some more"! Good job.

Thanks all for your feedback! To answer some questions, actually I was taking private lessons in theory while of high-school age is what I meant.