• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Topic: Upgrade or Competitive Cross Grade?

Share/Bookmark

Exclamation Upgrade or Competitive Cross Grade?

I could use some advice. Hopefully this won't lead to bashing or fighting.

I currently use on my Mac 466 Logic PLAT 4.8 with ESX and Giga on the PC side. I wish to upgrade my sequencer. To upgrade to Logic PRO 6 it's about $600 at Saved by Technology. However, I can crossgrade to Motu DP or Cubase for about $350.

My long term goal is scoring for picture. Over the last few years, I haven't hated Logic, but I have never found it intutitve and WAY too user definable. I prefer my Pro Tools over the mixing capabilities of Logic. The steep upgrade price and Logics learning curve are making me rethink sequencers.

I work as a film mixer by day but score at night. I haven't purchased any orchestras YET, but plan to over the next few months. I use Giga demo samples and Miroslav mini converted for the ESX.

I would like a sequencer that's more intuitive with good/easy notation. In the 80s I used Master Track Pro, in the 90s I used Opcode Vision, and then in 2001 I bought Logic. Before Logic, I rarely touched the manuals of Vision or Pro except for specific operations. Everything in my earlier sequencers seemed right at my fingertips including controlling midi data and adjusting notation. With Logic, I had to look at the manual to get the metronome working. I knew some film composers who used Logic and some european artists that dug it so I dived into Logic.

However there are aspects of Logic I enjoy. I will say I really like the emagic soft synths I own: EVP88, ES1, and ESX (which I've used on a project or two.). Having ESX loaded with samples is really easy, because everything is there in your sequencer.

I'm just ticked that the upgrade is a lot. I might as will have version Logic 3 or the Big Box cause upgrades from both are $600. To me, thats the cost of GPO and a DP 4.0 cross grade.