• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Topic: Help me choose a Piano

Share/Bookmark

Help me choose a Piano

I'm looking for a piano that can be used mostly for symphonic orchestra, new age styles. The tone I'm looking for is something that sounds thick, upfront, dark, warm soft, but not muddy sounding - almost dreamlike.

I am leaning on a Steinway D piano, but I am very much open to suggestions. I've listened to all sorts of demos but I am no piano expert, nor am I one who has heard every single demo.

From what I have heard I am leaning towards Galaxy Piano. Any suggestions are welcomed and very much appreciated.

PS. I own GigaPiano 2 so I think I have the pop/bright side of things covered.

Cheers

Senior Member Bruce A. Richardson's Avatar

Re: Help me choose a Piano

I'd suggest looking into the Black Grand. It is pretty much everything you're describing, and it is quite lovely in its Giga 3 form. 16 up, 16 down, 16 release. Three mic perspectives. I was in love with the ambient one for a while, but the close one has really got my attention now. With the GPII resonance model (set to a perspective range between 0 and 50, it certainly does it for me.

Thank you Bruce for the suggestion. Is that Worra's Sampletekk line? That is actually one that I have not yet heard the demos of. Looking into that one...

Thanks

Yes, it is. He is really doing some excellent work.

Quote Originally Posted by Bruce A. Richardson
    I'd suggest looking into the Black Grand. It is pretty much everything you're describing, and it is quite lovely in its Giga 3 form. 16 up, 16 down, 16 release. Three mic perspectives. I was in love with the ambient one for a while, but the close one has really got my attention now. With the GPII resonance model (set to a perspective range between 0 and 50, it certainly does it for me.