• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Topic: Forlorn Composer

Share/Bookmark

Forlorn Composer

Dear everyone,

I am an amateur composer in Hong Kong. I have had the good fortune to get involved with a company called 'Shakespeare for All' and I am am currently working as the Musical Director (for the second time) on a production of 'The Scottish Play'.

I am having a wonderful time writing and performing. However, Alas..... I have no one to discuss it with who wants to talk about reverb, counterpoint and the like... Help! (My friends think Sonar is a "Pook"ing sound that you hear on submarines.)

I recently started using GPO and I find it to be a vital resource for visualizing and performing for the stage.

There is so much I want to share with other like-minded people. Can anyone bear to hear about my trials and tribulations as a composer for the Bard?

Hopefully

Benjamin S Robinson.

Re: Forlorn Composer

Welcome to the forum!!

You will find that is exactly what we all love to talk about. Please tell us more. Share your experience and ask questions here. There are many proffesionals and other part-time composers and hobyist around. We all love GPO, orchestration and everything that goes with it.

Wow, so quick!!

Well first of all... How do I post compositions on this forum?

'Shakepeare for all' is the Brain-Child of a Professor of Hong Kong University professor who is so multi-talented that it would take me ages to tell you everthing about her. We take primary school students, give them a professional crew and put them on the biggest stage in Hong Kong to perform. Engilsh is their second language!!! It never ceases to amaze me how much kids can do when they are having fun.

With regards to me, I am an ex-drummer who moved to Hong Kong to follow the love of my life and accidentally got into teaching. Over the last year I have gone from Drummer-in-a-pub-band, to English teacher in the best school in Hong Kong!! Bl**dy lucky at the moment i'll say.