• Register
  • Help

Topic: Should i be nervous about GS3 ??

Should i be nervous about GS3 ??

I expect Mr. Brown to drop off my copy at any time.

I'm in the middle of a big project at the moment. But i dont know if i can resist the temptation to install !!

My system is pretty clean, nothing but Giga and Vstack (plus a few synths).

Anyone having trouble with GS2 templates opening in GS3 ??

Whats the approx. downtime for install ? Is this something i can do over lunch and remain the same as before ?

I know iknow, if its not broken, don't fix it ..... but the temptation will kill me !!!!

and yes, i have RME cards, so im aware i will need to hack the registry prior to install)

Re: Should i be nervous about GS3 ??

I was in your situation exactly. I own an RME card and having read about the potential problems I was quite apprehensive about installing GS3 especially since I compose for a living and couldn't afford any down time.
    The good news for me is that it worked without any problems at all. (I did receive an error message "The procedure point entry.....could not be located...) but I have not had any problems yet. Actually I have a MOTU micro lite as a midi interface and right after the install, Giga would not see any of those midi ports but did see the RME port (I did not do anything in the registry before the install) but after reboot my micro lite ports showed up. Phew!! I was relieved. Good Luck.

p.s. I tried to load an old GS2 setup...no problems.

Hi Scott,

I'd only install GS3 in the middle of a deadline on a fresh system HD. You have to uninstall GS2.5 before installing GS3, and you probably don't want to lose GS2.5 right now.