• Register
  • Help

Topic: Audio popping w/ GigaPiano II and others

Audio popping w/ GigaPiano II and others

I'm getting a random "popping" or "static" sound when playing GS3. It happens not only with GigaPiano but also other sound samples. I haven't been able to nail down exactly when it happens - it's not necessarily just with the pedal (as stated in the readme) but seems to happen when there is a lot of voices trying to be played.

I tried messing with the audio buffer sizes on my card last night. Started at 512. Brought it up to 1024 and it seemed to lessen the amount of pops - but the latency delay is a bit too much for me. When I tried to increase it to 2048 - GS3 wouldn't even load - just crash.

This happens straight out of GS3 - no Rewire problems like the other thread. Even when I Rewire through Sonar and play through my Audigy card - the pops still occur, so I don't even know if it's an audio buffer problem.

I am still really new to this, so any help would be appreciated, thank you.

Here's my setup:

P4 2.8Ghz
    1GB RAM
    30GB Raptor SATA
    80GB Maxtor
    M-Audio 2496

Re: Audio popping w/ GigaPiano II and others

JRH, Have you tried optimizing your DAWS?

Senior Member Bruce A. Richardson's Avatar
    Dallas, Texas

Are you "stacking" instruments on one channel? I think there's a known issue of popping on a stacked channel.

My machines are less muscular than yours, and I'm not having this problem (knocking on wood). So the good news is that it's probably just a tweak or a driver update that's needed. Be sure to update video drivers, every hardware driver you can think of. GigaStudio has a way of accentuating problems on a machine.

Thanks - I had concerns with the PDF linked above because I thought it might be outdated. I recall reading somewhere on here that disabling ACPI wasn't such a great idea (or wasn't needed anymore).