• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Topic: Anyone having success with G3 on W2K?

Share/Bookmark

Anyone having success with G3 on W2K?

I installed it and everytime I opened the registration file or G3 orch, the system would reboot.
    What caused this was the midi in had a LAN O in instead the of the soundcard's midi in.
    I haven't registered it yet and can't do the trial because I did the clean giga utility.

I would like to hear if someone is using this on W2K.

Re: Anyone having success with G3 on W2K?

I tried, and when I attempted to open 'orchestra', it froze the computer. I got XP Pro, and it still freezes...
    I wish i knew what the problem was...
    It would be nice to actually use the software.

I'm a newbie when it comes to GigaStudio - former HALion user.

I've been hesitant to upgrade my DAW to XP due to all my stupid challenge-response plug-ins and other hardware tuned just right for Win2K. Therefore I made the jump to GS3 Orchestra with a bit of hesitation and fear.

Fortunately I can say that GS3 Orchestra is running fine and relatively stable on my Win2K DAW. I had some crashing problems with GigaPulse at first, but after reading some forumites having difficulty with VST plug-ins w/o a GUI mucking up GS3's internals I fixed the problem (disable them in GS3) and now it has been running smoothly.

I am also running the latest beta GSIF2 drivers from M-Audio (Delta66) and I can report that they are working well. My system is fairly modest so I cannot really stress GS3 but even when I have my CPU and HDD pegged out, GS3 merely snaps or crackles rather than crashing.

I've tried both ReWire and GSIF2 modes and both seem equally stable. I tend to use ReWire so I can utilize my DAW's Freeze and render options rather than the GS3 audio capture.

So far so good as they say...

Quote Originally Posted by esperlad
    I tried, and when I attempted to open 'orchestra', it froze the computer. I got XP Pro, and it still freezes...