• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 6 1234 ... LastLast

Topic: RANT: Sample Lib Makers: Documentation! Playing Techniques! Examples!

Share/Bookmark

RANT: Sample Lib Makers: Documentation! Playing Techniques! Examples!

I am having an ongoing lovers spat with the developer of one of my fave sample libs of all time. This lib is FANTASTIC. Love it.
    BUT, as a computer programmer by trade, the end -Product- reminds me a LOT of various guys I have known over the years who spend 95% of their effort on the program and 5% on the user manual. (Steinberg has been like this, though SX3 -has- gotten MUCH better in this regard.)

It's not the it isn't 'documented'. It is. The -contents- are scrupulously documented.

BUT, and here's the BIG BUT: There is almost NOTHING in it on how to -use- it. You know---playing techniques. Examples showing how various effects are created emulating what a 'real' player would do.

And nowadays, sample libs are getting MIGHTY PRICEY. A couple of years ago, people bitched about spending a couple hundred on a lib. Now it's common to add a zero to that!

So: If the developers are going to make a 400TB library with 372 'performances' and 1293 'perspectives' I think it is incumbent on them to show us poor saps how to USE IT.

I will not name the offenders. Instead, I will (hopefully) shame them by offering an example of a guy WHO DOES IT RIGHT. Gary Garritan.

Anyone who buys GOS or GPO gets a TON of background info, not just on the lib, but on the PLAYING TECHNIQUES that some of us never got round to learning because we didn't go to music college, or slept in class while there.

Also: his web site is CHOCK FULL of MORE stuff to aid the budding composer in his efforts to create convincing PERFORMANCES. Demos of various techniques! Examples from other composers! MID files! It's all there.

Message to all sample lib developers: If you want the big dosh for your efforts, PLEASE budget adequate space/time for TUTORIALS and PLAYING TECHNIQUES.