• Register
  • Help

Topic: Giga 3 Polyphony count and more

Share/Bookmark

Giga 3 Polyphony count and more

I'm running Giga 3 on a pentium 4 - 3ghz machine with 2 gigs of ram, an internal drive and two 7200rpm 160gigabyte drives in a raid for streaming.

I noticed that if you change the polyphony setting and hit apply it doesn't take effect until you restart gigastudio. I jacked it up to 600 voices (and laughed to myself) after holding the sustain pedal and recording every note possible, (with some pounding on the controller) on a vsl string instrument and the giga 2 piano and playing it back, it seemed to peak at 384 voices. I'm pretty new to gigastudio in general, only been using v 2.5 for 3 months but it seems fairly impressive. This may be a stupid question but is this a reliable means of determining what I might expect out of my voice count? Also, would more ram allow more voices on a system like this or is it pretty much about the processor speed with 2 gigs of ram?

3. I also noticed a solo bug in stacking. I ended up unchecking solo but everything was still muted, this happened a couple of times. You can still hit the mute button (by accident) on an already muted track (because another track is solo'd) and in doing so a few times, it seems to have geeked-out. anyone else notice this?

thanks
    My Gear:
    Sonica P3 w/ 2 gigs ramm, 300+gigs 7200rpm raid, giga 160, RME Hammerfall HDSP 96, VSL Orch. Cube, NI complete 2 AU, dual 800 G4, os 10.2.8, dp 4.12au, motu M5 1.08, waves platinum 4.3x, uad 3.5.1 Spectrasonics Stylus & Atmosphere (AU versions) 1.25 gigs ram, miromotion dc30+ vid capture crd, motu pci 424 G5 card, midi exprss xt

Re: Giga 3 Polyphony count and more

Quote Originally Posted by acoustech
    Also, would more ram allow more voices on a system like this or is it pretty much about the processor speed with 2 gigs of ram?
    thanks